Further CV Research After Critic

So, we had our CV’s evaluated by Greg today. I have to really re-evaluate mine, in terms of content. I have far to much writing. I decided by researching exactly what I really should say in a CV would help me cut down on my information. Also, adjusting to a simplified layout would help with this.

How to write a CV

What is a CV?

CV is short for Curriculum Vitae, Latin for course of life. It is a summary of your experience, skills and education.

How long should a CV be?

Ideally, a CV should be no more than 2 sides of an A4 page. However, Greg suggested sticking to one page, as employers tend to not read in detail- only searching for key words.

What should be included in a CV?

Contact details- name, address, mobile phone number and email address.

Education- list and date, previous education, any professional qualifications.

Referees- two people who can provide positive comments on your previous employment or experiences

Skills- for example, ability to work in a team, manage people, customer service, skills or specific IT skills.

Work Experience- this can be internships, voluntary roles or previous jobs.

What should I leave out?

The term curriculum vitae or resume- CV suffice in the UK

A photo- unless applying for an acting or modelling job

Date of birth or place of birth- this is unnecessary and can lead to identity theft

I found all this information in an old book my mum had lying in the house- when she went for her own job interviews! I  am going to help this guide my new CV layout and look- which I will talk about more.

Changing my CV layout

I decided to also look at more shapely CVs i.e. CV’s that follow a more block structure. I really liked the layout used in both Andrew Coyles and Christian’s from last year.

christ.jpgChristian Johnson’s CV. (CLOY TOONS, 2016).

cg_ac_cv_newest.jpg

Andrew Coyle’s CV. (CLOY TOONS, 2016).

Here is my own CV, fixing it to match some of the layouts. There are some things I will like to fix in it- the alignment feels boring right now.

References

CLOY TOONS. (2016). cloytoons. [online] Available at: https://cloytoons.wordpress.com/author/cloytoons/ [Accessed 20 Dec. 2016].

Leave a Reply

