HDRI- Test Renders using

After having a look into the HDRI’s and what how to create my own, I wanted to have a goo applying this information in my own modelling tasks- while modelling the jar.

Alec advised I used an HDRI when modelling my assets- to have a look how the light influences them. (YouTube, 2016).

I used a pretty standard HDRI file from online, applying it to the skydome like the tutorial instructed. It created this pretty noisy render (below).

noisy

I originally thought I was being smart and went to play around with the Arnold render settings, turning up the diffuse, as it was something I had read earlier on Solid Angle.

Picture2.png

Trying my best at following some of another tutorial. (Support.solidangle.com, 2016).

In hindsight, I am glad I tried to do something myself, however it was wrong. The tutorial explained that the diffuse samples had to be increased in the skydome light itself. It was explained that this sample value is squared and multiplied by the square of the AA samples. The sample slider goes up to 100, however, to create the correct look, the value never needs to be lower than 3/4. I tried a standard value of 3, to see how it looked.

sample3.jpgThere is still a bit of noise. I therefore upped the samples to 6.

sample6

Still a bit of noise- time to go full wack. Even at sample 9, I found the scene to be noisy. As I watched further on the tutorial, it was mentioned that the resolution of the HDRI must be correct in the ai skydome settings, or it too can cause noise.

It took me a while to find the values (below). So the resolution would be

Picture3.png

Finding the resolution.

From this, I then created a few renders.

res1.jpg

At 2,700 Res.

res2

At 5,400 Res.

I need to again tweak the map values. Matthew Hamill suggested I look into different maps to try and create realistic weathering i.e. where the glass is touched more and to add smudges to the glass.

References

YouTube. (2016). Arnold for Maya Tutorial – Image Based Lighting. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rk1dop1SyFo [Accessed 6 Nov. 2016].

Support.solidangle.com. (2016). Removing Noise – Arnoldpedia – Solid Angle. [online] Available at: https://support.solidangle.com/display/ARP/Removing+Noise [Accessed 6 Nov. 2016].

Leave a Reply

