The Jump Revisited

After presenting the jump that I showed at the critic with Alec and our team, I went back to fix the IK spine. However, files from my one drive seem to have gone missing…

So I had to restart, as I really could not face going back to the original blocked out stages again.

This time, I wanted to still do the jump, but create in more of a game jump- on the spot rather than from point A to point B. We had a class with Alec in which he talked about gaming animation- saying that in games, the animation would have to look good from all angles, as the camera moves around the action. He also mentioned that there were lots of standard actions that were used in games- jumps, idles poses, runs, deaths etc.

Digital Tutors has a cool article on this pipeline for the creation of indie game animations, from the concept to the animation itself.

I found a good tutorial on Digital Tutors to have a look at. It broke down the jump into the poses again (like mentioned in previous posts) before going back and adding the overlapping actions.

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-14-03-25Much like the jump- the start and end pose are the same. (Digitaltutors.com, 2016).

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-14-03-36Jump at the high point. (Digitaltutors.com, 2016).

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-14-06-52

Falling poses. (Digitaltutors.com, 2016).

For further reference, I again referred back to the video below, as I loved the floaty hand movements in it. The overlapping action was also really cool- for example when falling to the ground, the actions are overexaggerated in a way that slows the speed.

The vertical jump animation Alec showed us before. (YouTube, 2016).

Once again, I looked at Andrew Coyle’s blog for some help. He mentioned another Digital Tutors tutorial that he looked at, creating the jump below.

I used the references he took for the main inspiration in my own jump.

 

 

Below is my attempt at redoing the jump. I am happy with the action in the beginning of the animation, however am finding the landing uninspiring- something feels off. I’m unsure what though- going to ask Alec for some critic.

 

 

References

Digitaltutors.com. (2016). Maya Tutorials > Animating In-Game Biped Characters in Maya Tutorial > Pluralsight. [online] Available at: http://www.digitaltutors.com/tutorial/1775-Animating-In-Game-Biped-Characters-in-Maya#play-44005 [Accessed 2 Nov. 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Vertical Jump : Key frame Animation : 牛山雅博. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL1Luzd2od8 [Accessed 2 Nov. 2016].

Leave a Reply

