Jump Research

I wanted to do some research into previously animated jump cycles. This could also help with reference later on. I also wanted to know the best way too create this jump i.e. on the spot or forward.

I really liked Andrew Coyle’s jump on the spot- almost like a gaming move.

Andrew Coyle’s jump animation. (Vimeo, 2016).

Alec showed us the jump below. I really like the personality demonstrated in the heavy head- giving a bit of humour to the every day move.

I found the addition of weight in this rather nice. (YouTube, 2016).

I originally thought I could give a dramatic sequence to the jump but due to the struggle I had with the initial walk cycle, I realised the difficulties in this for me. I also really liked this as it gave the breakdown for how the jump was created. (YouTube,2016).

I really liked the over exaggerated secondary motions above, I also found the removal of the arms great as it let me focus on them, and the body movement along. The second, as mentioned previously, being something I struggle with identifying. (YouTube, 2016).

 

References

Vimeo. (2016). Jump: Multiple Views. [online] Available at: https://vimeo.com/151151637 [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Vertical Jump : Key frame Animation : 牛山雅博. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL1Luzd2od8 [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Class 2, Week 7 – Animation Mentor (Box Jump – Final). [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wafsC0eV6g0 [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Run Jump Animation Breakdown. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDSZfl2_NSs [Accessed 15 Oct. 2016].

Leave a Reply

